Contact me!

Or a quick start into encryption

The best way to contact me is Email. To keep our communication confidential, I can offer you different possibilities of encryption:

Pretty Good Privacy (PGP)

The decentralized PGP protocol enabled encrypted communication using public and private keys. The main problem of this protocol is to distribute the public keys while assuring their authenticity. Therefor, you can find my public key not only on the key servers where everyone can public keys without any validation but also here: PGP Public Key.

You can use PGP for exable in Thunderbird with the Enigmail plugin or in the browsers Chrome and Firefox with the Mailvelope plugin.

S/MIME

S/MIME is the centralized counterpart for PGP. The authenticity of the public keys is validated in this protocol by a signature of a trustworthy certificate authorify (CA) that are owned by states and companies. While this solves the problem of the key distribution it makes the confidentiality of the communication dependent from the trust in all certificate authorities, which is why many whistleblowers and other dissidents refrain from using this protocol. To enable you to also use this protocol when sending mails to me, you find my public key here: S/MIME Public Key.

S/MIME is natively supported by many email clients and you can get an own certificate for free, for example from Actalis (as of 07/2019).

Instant Messengers

Both preceding approaches are trying to secure the email protocol which is insecure by default. A common alternative today are encrypted instant messengers that are easy to use and therefor do not pose the threat of misuse. On the one hand side I want to highlight the Signal messenger, which is developed and operated by the non-profit Signal foundation and whose open-source encryption protocol is universally seen as secure und is used by other messengers as WhatsApp. On the other hand side, though Threema is not open-source nor free it provides another secure method of encryption and follows the privacy regulations because it is located in Switzerland.

In Threema you can find me using the ID CAEVDC65 und in Signal using my mobile phone number which you can ask for if you want to contact me that way.

IT

Kontakt

Oder eine schnelle Einführung in Verschlüsselung

Am besten nehmen Sie mit mir Kontakt via Email auf. Damit die Kommunikation dabei vertraulich bleiben kann, biete ich Ihnen folgende Möglichkeiten der Verschlüsselung:

Pretty Good Privacy (PGP)

Das dezentrale PGP-Protokoll ermöglicht verschlüsselte Kommunikation mittels öffentlichen und privaten Schlüsseln. Das Problem ist hierbei die Feststellung der Authentizität des öffentlichen Schlüssels. Daher können Sie meinen öffentlichen Schlüssel abgesehen von Schlüsselservern, auf denen jeder einen Schlüssel ohne Überprüfung veröffentlichen kann, auch hier finden: PGP Public Key.

PGP kann beispielsweise in Thunderbird mit dem Plugin Enigmail oder in den Browsern Chrome und Firefox mit dem Plugin Mailvelope genutzt werden.

S/MIME

S/MIME ist das zentral organisierte Pendant zu PGP. Die Authentizität der Schlüssel wird hier über eine Signatur von vertrauenswürdigen (staatlichen und kommerziellen) Zertifizierungsstellen (CAs) sichergestellt. Während dieses Problem hier dadurch gelöst wird, ist die Vertraulichkeit der S/MIME-verschlüsselten Kommunikation vom Vertrauen in die CA abhängig, weshalb zum Beispiel Whistleblower und andere Dissidenten diesem Protokoll kritisch gegenüberstehen. Damit Sie mir auch über dieses Protokoll verschlüsselte Emails schicken können, finden Sie meinen öffentlichen Schlüssel hier: S/MIME Public Key.

Das Protokoll wird von vielen Email-Clients nativ unterstützt und Zertifikate werden unter anderem von Comodo kostenlos ausgestellt.

Instant-Messenger

Beide vorherigen Ansätze versuchen, das von vornherein unsichere Email-Protokoll nachträglich abzusichern. Als Alternative bieten sich heutzutage verschlüsselte Instant-Messenger an, die einfach zu nutzen sind und nicht die Gefahr einer Fehlbenutzung bergen. Besonders hervorzuheben sind dabei Signal, das von der gemeinnütztigen Signal-Stiftung entwickelt und betrieben wird und dessen offenes Verschlüsselungsprotokoll allgemeinhin als sicher eingestuft wird und als Vorbild für andere Messenger wie WhatsApp dient, und Threema, das zwar nicht Open-Source und darüber hinaus kostenpflichtig ist, das aber ebenfalls eine sichere Verschlüsselung bietet und zusätzlich mit dem Standort in der Schweiz den Datenschutzanforderungen genügt.

Bei Threema finden Sie mich unter der ID CAEVDC65 und bei Signal über meine Mobilnummer, die sie bei Bedarf gerne erfragen können.

IT